Yes, 3 posts in a day.  What can I say, I am motivated.  And for once, this post isn’t about me…not directly.


I want you all to look at a picture, and I want everyone to respond, whether or not you usually respond, and regardless of what you have to say.  I just want to know what’s really going on in the heads of others.



Now the “title” of this picture is supposed to be How to Spot a Rich Guy. Obviously, with a title like that, it’s meant for laughs. 


Do you think it’s funny?


I think that the judgement of many would be that it is funny, and that is the point.  Maybe because it is unnatural for a guy who looks like that to hold hands with a girl who looks like she does.  What woman with a body like that would be caught dead with a pig like him without being duly compensated?


It is overly obvious that we all live in a culture that places image first.  Looks are what moves this world, what moves every one of us to some extent or another.  So when do we as a society grow?


Now some of you may ask, “What does it matter?”, “Why do you care?”, “It’s just a joke, you know?”  All valid questions.


I care because that could have been a picture of me.


Do I look like that?  Not really, but I did once upon a time.  That’s why it bothers me.  It bothers me because I know that is what people thought then when I walked around with girls who were on the small size.  Something that has always been an insult to me.  When I started to work out, it wasn’t because I felt I needed to look better to get a date, it was because I was thinking about myself and my well being.


I’ve slacked off a bit, but not so much that I could be a body double for the guy in the picture.  But so what?  What if I was? 


Is it that impossible to think that someone who was fat could get a girl with a nice body without having to have a whore/john relationship?  Can’t be.


One of the things I have prided myself on was the notion that I never, ever had to buy anyone’s love, at least not overtly.  Sure, I have given a gift or two in my life, but usually that was to cover up shit that I wasn’t sure I was going to get away with, or simply out of the goodness of my own heart.  I’ve shared my life and bed with more than a couple of attractive women, and never once did I ever wonder why she was there.  Hell, I got laid more when I was heavier…and I still don’t get how that works out.


The point is that shallow people will always suffer because they choose body type over true substance.  Just because a guy or a girl is fat doesn’t mean that they have to be limited as to the choices of people to date, fuck, or even marry.  It doesn’t have to be all about money.


Assumptions suck shit.  You limit yourself when you keep your mind closed to any option.


Besides, what about the girl in the pic?  You can only see her backside, what if she is a complete butterface?  What if she has the gaze of Medusa?  What about that, huh?


Here endeth the lesson, because I am spent.

15 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Love is not about looks, but lust is. Love is about your thoughts and your heart and your personality, with looks and great sex as the icing on the cake. I’m a big girl, and I’ve dated skinny guys before. Some guys prefer big women, and vice versa. It has nothing to do with money – and if it does, then you’re nothing but pathetic.I’ve read that some guys like a fat woman, cause what guy will steal her from him? Where will she find another man who will put up with her x-large ass? Bullshit. All of it.I’d say it all comes down to attitude. If you have a great attitude and you’re friendly, you’ll get more chicks, regardless of your size or looks. And if any woman turned you down, Hashim, then they don’t deserve you. You deserve greatness – don’t settle for anything less.

    August 16, 2004 at 7:34 pm

  2. I’m not fat, but some of my boyfriends have been. Stupid cunts can’t deal with what’s on the inside, so they concern themselves with what’s on the outside.
    Sucks to be them, because they’re the ones who end up with the shaft. You know that, you Dripping Buttdart.

    August 16, 2004 at 7:36 pm

  3. Hello beautifulloser, My name is TheBOOOOYA! pleased to meet you.ShapelyPatellas is the most superbombastic girl this side of the xanga universe.WooooWooooo!(TheBOOOOYA! begins dancing in circles and bopping his head and snapping his fingers..)-BOOOOYA!

    August 16, 2004 at 8:28 pm

  4. I don’t think I would judge anyone by what they wanted in someone, no matter what color, size, lifestyle etc. 
    For myself, I would want someone who cared about taking care of themselves simply because I am into that myself.  I have dated heavy set guys and loved them.  That never bothered me.  But I guess it would bother me to be with someone who just didn’t care at all about their health.   I’d want someone who could support what is important to me and not resent me for doing it.
    Anyway, you haven’t visited me in a while.  I need your advice on my post….once again.  HOLLA

    August 16, 2004 at 9:47 pm

  5. I totally agree with what your post said. I actually even commented on buffy_girls xanga about your refusal to give her props for posting the pic in the first place. That’s how I came to be here, so now props to you for real.

    August 16, 2004 at 9:51 pm

  6. I hate it. It tells me he doesn’t hold value cause he’s big. Just bugs my inner fear of someday not holding value cause I would gain weight… there’s a truth I tell ya.

    August 16, 2004 at 10:03 pm

  7. very interesting journal entry.. i was just about ready to jump down your throat when i read the line “What woman with a body like that would be caught dead with a pig like him without being duly compensated?”.. but then i realised that’s not your opinion but rather what you think other people might say.
    i dont see the humour in the picture. and it’s not because i’m sensitive about it. i was scrawny as a kid and now i barely weigh 50kg.. i just think it’s tasteless..
    I Blame TV, entertainment, fashion..might sound cliched but that’s how i see it…but when it comes to being overweight.. the only reason a person should do anything  about it should be for their health.
    rant over. i’m gonna shut up now. =) thanks for the advice on my journal.. i appreciate it…

    August 17, 2004 at 3:37 am

  8. Man…didnt think a joke that was forwarded to me earlier yesterday would make such a huge impact on you and a few others. Read my post today and you’ll see I wasn’t being “shallow” just because I found it funny……sorry you didnt find it amusing…. thats your own opinion… and this is mine….

    August 17, 2004 at 11:13 am

  9. I have been skinny, and I have been not so skinny, my weight has ranged from 187 to 130 in my recent years.  Let me say, I know what you mean when you say this picture strikes a nerve. 
    People, treated me different when I was smaller, girls were not so nice, and men were really nice, then when I gained some weight, it was the opposite, girls didn’t feel threatened by their “heavy” friend, and guys.. well most didn’t seem to be trying to go out of their way to impress me, and the drinks offers at the bar faded quickly.
    I think society is just really judgemental and until someone has actually been on the other side of the coin, it’s easy to find humour in other peoples issues.
    I didn’t find it funny, I find it sad for the people that do find it funny.

    August 17, 2004 at 2:08 pm

  10. RE: your comment on my site…. I just find it silly tat somene must analyze a joke as tohow our society thinks now…like its a big surprise to you that the majorith of the people out there found that pic amusing…hell it could have been set up for all we know…but its main purpose was to make ya chuckle a little. You say heavier people and retards are easier to taget jokes at… now what do you mean by retards? If youre thinking what Im thinking, I dont find that a very appropriate way to call them.
    People get picked on and teased for many many stupid and silly things in life… the way they dress, how big their nose is, their HAIRstyle…u name it….people have made fun of it. Most people can take a joke…or atleast not sit there and analyze something and create a whole blog out of a silly forward a fellow xanga member received one morning…. sheesh. People judge everyday… the fact is everyone has a lot to offer…people just need to take the time to get to know someone…but unfortnently they dont.
    About the puking joke… ws that really a joke? Or were u just throwing a point out there? It didnt really make sense as a JOKE so just curious…. but anyways, theres a rationalization that all skinny woman make them selves puke because they wanna win a beauty pagent? ummmm….doubtful.

    August 17, 2004 at 5:21 pm

  11. as someone whos had a couple of weight issues myself, fat jokes always make me cringe. they always get me..i laugh, because its a joke, but my hearts going double time because im that angry. anyway, i’d have to say that yeah, some people are really that shallow. some people are less shallow in the way theyre programmed to do anything for money to protect themselves, others just want money. if that made sense.
    and when people are targeted for something about themself, they always angry. okay, well i am..some people are more generous. but if i were irish, irish jokes would get me..since im not, theyre funny. i agree that jokes that ‘target’ and painfully insensitive and should never be said..but i cant help thinking theyre funny.
    and like someone already mentioned, theres a difference between lust and love..one demeans you for who you are or the choices you make.
    “assumptions suck shit.” amen.

    August 17, 2004 at 8:02 pm

  12. Anonymous

    Wow!!!
    I liked that a lot my respect for you just went sky high when I saw the picture I thought “aww… that’s really cute” but I thought I was going to read some offensive comment from you– I was so … wrong.
    Tina

    August 18, 2004 at 1:42 am

  13. i see this sight nearly everyday…never think twice about it.  i would say, she is the lucky one… most of the kindest guys I’ve ever met looked alot like him.
    By the way, you’re becoming a comment ho.  13 comments…*jealous*

    August 18, 2004 at 1:29 pm

  14. Anonymous

    How do we know her teeth aren’t bucked, and gappy, and gold?  Could explain a lot.

    August 22, 2004 at 2:07 pm

  15. I’m not exactly small or busty and I get more guys hitting on me than one of my friends who’s pretty skinny(& has decent size tits). I think guys feel more comfortable arouind larger girl an dI hate the assumptions some people make. At my school they seem to think that just ‘cos someone is a ‘minger’ than they will only fancy other ‘mingers’, it’s just so stupid, they just don’t seem to understand that everyone’s the same inside, just some understand people a whole lot better than they do.
    Luv ur xanga!

    August 23, 2004 at 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

