I’ll be back to my columns Sunday or Monday.  Today is pretty simple…


Marie called me last night.


For those of you who are new and haven’t read up on me, Marie is this girl from Puerto Rico who I was in a mild relationship with during the wintertime.  She moved back to PR in March, and we had been keeping sporadic contact with each other until she decided to up and get engaged a week or so ago.


The last time I talked to her (when she told me), I got very upset about it all for some reason, and destroyed my cellphone in the process.


She called me last night, and I answered.  I came to terms with the whole engagement thing, so I wasn’t being shitty with her or anything, I just talked.  She spent some time apologizing for how things were now, and started crying.  This bothered me.


It bothered me because…well…I don’t actually know why it bothered me, it just did.  One of those things that gets to you because you can’t control the situation.  There was nothing about our conversation that I could control, and that made me uncomfortable.  Then she went into small talk as if everything was alright.  I was beginning to feel the hatred seethe up into me, and then she dropped a bombshell:


“I’m coming to Indiana, and I want to see you.” 


Honestly, what the fuck?  No way I could or would want to answer or even reply to that.  Can’t do it.


I had to end the conversation right there and then.  And there is an old trick to this…just act like someone is beeping in on the old call waiting.  I made up some emergency and said my goodbyes.


I don’t know what is going to happen next…October will tell its tale, that much will be for sure.


Shit like this should come with an instruction manual.

8 responses

  1. Anonymous

    I must have missed most the posts about Marie because I don’t know why you wouldn’t want to see her ???
    Is she still engaged?
    Did she say why she wants to see you?
    I guess that is a tough situation.

    August 21, 2004 at 8:16 pm

  2. Anonymous

    smarty pants here are your kisses (although w/ this red background you can’t see them)

    August 21, 2004 at 8:22 pm

  3. Anonymous

    I wouldn’t want to see her either, because it would hurt. But it would be so good to see her… protect your heart. Don’t let her break it again.

    August 22, 2004 at 1:36 am

  4. obviously you still mean a lot to her, if shes coming up to see you. doesn’t sound..um, healthy. considering she’s getting married and all. heh, can’t imagine the ‘call-waiting’ response made her feel particularly good about it though.. 😛

    August 22, 2004 at 5:12 am

  5. She must be unsure of her marriage, and wants to put it all into perspective by coming to see you.  You must be that someone, who she never could escape or get out of her system.  But, I wouldn’t see her.  Just let her live with the choices she has made and always wonder what could’ve been.  She obviously needs to see where her feeling lie with you.

    August 22, 2004 at 4:45 pm

  6. I agree on the instruction manual wouldn’t it be cool if there was one!
    Good Luck!

    August 22, 2004 at 11:23 pm

  7. She wants to see you bc she wants to make sure she is making the right choice in getting engaged. She has no right to put you through that. It also sounds like a cry for help. But…she is a big girl. You made the right decision to hang up on her. Go with you gut instincts…that is the best manual you need. ~peace~

    August 23, 2004 at 10:15 am

  8. Screw all that…if you still have any REAL feelings for her…don’t do it.  Its an ego trip for her and an emotional disaster area for you.  You’re better than that…tell her you’ll be in PR on vacation in October…hahaha.  Thanks SO MUCH for the ‘hug and roll’ explanation…u da bomb, dude! *muah*

    August 23, 2004 at 10:40 am

Leave a Reply

