Days like this are what really test the mettle of individuals…


As I look out at the grey November morning, I find myself in deep thought.  I guess I am always preoccupied in one form or another.  I have to know all things at all times, and it is a wonder how I ever get anywhere in the process.


So what is it this morning?  Union Board elections.  For those who have been following me for any real length of time, and for those who know me, I have spent the last year serving on the Board of Directors of the Indiana Memorial Union, at Indiana University.  It’s the largest and oldest Student Union in the country, and as a Director, I am partly responsible for a yearly budget of about $1 million in student activity fees.


For the past year, I have run the films program, which is the oldest of it’s kind, and possibly the most extensive, depending on programs and who you ask.  It’s been a great experience, and a rollercoaster ride to be sure, but I have enjoyed the experience as a whole.


Anyway, I am coming to the end of my term, and have decided to run for re-election, which is taking place today.  When I ran last year, I was an unknown, and as a result, I spent 30+ hours without sleep campaigning for a seat.  To my surprise, and a lot of hard work, I won a seat.  It was different then.  To me, things worked different.  Now as I face today’s election, I don’t know if I have the heart to really push it like I did one year previous, I just don’t really know.


Part of me doesn’t want to be a part of this anymore, but then when I look at what I have been able to do, the notion that I was more than just a normal student, it drives me on.  This year, I am pushing for a presidency, for one, because I think I can do the things that I have seen as lacking this year.  The president I served under this year was popular amongst the troops, but ultimately she was a do-nothing president, and our profile as a Student Organization became that much more obscured in my opinion.  She just didn’t do enough.


So this is where my egomaniacal id steps in and tells me, “Yes…you want to be president.  Make it happen, no matter whether or not you need it.”


Sometimes it’s wholly possible to want too much, but then this is the course of my life, and the path I have indelibly set into motion.  I live to serve, I suppose…


So of course I will go if elected, no matter what I feel.  Gotta make it happen, gotta feed the power hungry beast that resides somewhere inside my sensibilities.  Gotta get some more face time and attention.


I’m ridiculous, I know.


Anyway, if you happen to be an IU student, take a minute to go here and cast your vote for Union Board Director.  I’m Candidate #7, so just go from there.


I’m Hashim Hathaway, a power mad idiot, and I approve this message.


 


 

7 responses

  1. True that, Hashim.  Minus all inappropriate slang.  Good luck.

    November 30, 2004 at 10:52 am

  2. Anonymous

    Go. . .baby!Good luck.

    November 30, 2004 at 1:01 pm

  3. Good luck, egomaniac!

    November 30, 2004 at 2:12 pm

  4. If I were a student I would vote for you! Good luck!

    November 30, 2004 at 4:34 pm

  5. Anonymous

    If you didn’t at least try to win this again, you’d probably kick yourself later. Good luck!

    November 30, 2004 at 10:37 pm

  6. You couldnt be more right.
    -Hannah

    November 30, 2004 at 11:25 pm

  7. just wanted to say hi… -Laurie

    December 1, 2004 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

