I get to get up and go, I get to get up and go, I get to get up and go back to Bloom, Motherfucker…I could shit myself, I’m so pleased…


I spent the majority of the morning closing up loose ends business wise, culminating in one last important task…Daddy’s gettin his license back (which I should have never lost in the first place if I would have just paid the damn $25 seatbelt infraction ticket)


All I have to do is take the form over to the reinstatement branch of the BMV and off I go.  Now I won’t have an excuse for not going places, and when I go out drinkin, then I can reduce my risk a hair or two…Go figure


So anyway…I was covered in blood.


See, On New Year’s Eve, I really had nowhere to go, no invites, nothing.  I had hooked up with Erick and Rich Money at Wrigley Field Bar and Grill.  A couple of female friends of Erick’s met us there, one of which just came in from Bloomington.  Now I’m thinking that Erick has something hooked up with them basically making our own IU centric party…but no. 


Apparently the girls were asking him what we were going to do, what did we want to do, and of course Erick had nothing planned, so they ended up making plans to go to Ball State to hit some sort of party there.  I could only shake my head and laugh at his stupidity, but that didn’t last long because we still had shit to figure out.  Which that too hit a wall.


I ended up calling C, asking him what the business was on the evening.  He told me that his cousin and mutual friend of mine, Tone, was having a set with his girl at their new house.  Of course I wanted to go with him, because usually we all have a good time together.


I let Erick and Rich know what I was doing and then I headed with them to the liquor store.  After getting our collective supply of hooch, Erick dropped me off at home, and I crashed out for a couple of hours (By this time, it was only 7pm)  When I woke up, I saw that it was only 9, and I wasn’t pressed for time.  I did, however want to catch up with C, to make sure we were on the same page.  C explained to me that he had to go to church with the girlfriend, mainly because I think she is really on to him about some of the shit that he pulls, so I didn’t really blame him for trying to keep peace in the house.  He told me that the service would last until a little after midnight, and that we would go to Tone’s after he got back.  Ugh.


So it was here that I decided to get my ass up, get dressed, and go to Piere’s to meet up with Erick and Rich Money.  I didn’t want to go there in the first place, but I didn’t want to sit at home until after the ball dropped either.


I got suited up, nothing too flashy, and headed out.  Once I turned my phone on, it showed that I had a couple of messages.  One of them was from Tone, who was basically inviting me over himself.  I called him up, he was glad to hear from me, and told me to head over as soon as I could; that C would just have to come on his own when he gets done with the fam.


I get over to Tone’s and I am pretty impressed with his new digs.  When I got there, it was him, his fiancee Brea, his cousin Dre and his girlfriend (who was really quiet and tanned)


Soon after, Tone’s aunt Frida arrived with her boyfriend, and the night began in full.  Let me tell you, I was honestly having a blast, and everyone who talked to me on the phone knew it.  I was pretty happy and content with my choice of going over there, and I was happy that I was getting to talk to everyone I wanted to talk to, wishing them a Happy New Year and the like…


I said hello to people I haven’t in awhile, and I said goodbye to others.  Some more civil, and others…well, they just don’t know how to say goodbye the right way, but who cares?  That’s old business now, it just goes into the file…


Like I said, the night was going on swimmingly, and it showed.  Everyone was laughing and joking.  We were having a Spades tournament, and frankly, all was right with the world…C ended up not coming, mainly because his girlfriend forbade it, even though he denied it, we all knew that the hooks were in and the leash was tightened for the night.  I found out later (not from him) that he ended up being dragged to Piere’s by her, oh well…


Things continued to go well until about oh…2:30-3:00am.  Brea, Tone’s fiancee, was getting more and more intoxicated and unruly.  She kept hugging up on Tone as he was playing his hand, bumping the table, and spilling drinks.  To Tone’s credit, he was showing great amounts of restraint, more than he ever had in the past, which could be chalked up to the fact that he was really making an attempt to change his life.


Soon Brea’s 3 female friends showed up, and that is when things simply got out of hand.  It seemed like the girl was showing out for her friends, or trying to get some reaction out of Tone who was trying to keep it cool.  It didn’t take long until she hopped up on the table where we were playing cards, and it was at that point that I knew the night was going to end badly, even though everyone else was trying hard to keep up appearances.  The situation was getting so uncomfortable, because Tone was beginning to crack a little, and so that scared off Brea’s friends, and as soon as he lost his seat at the Spades table, we could hear them in the back, going at it. 


It started as arguing at first, but it wasn’t long before you could hear glass break. 


“Auntie, come get her, she’s fighting me!”


And she was at that.  I didn’t want to get up and turn around.  Frida darted into the room to see what the hell was going on, shouting at Brea.  Tone came into the dining room where Dre and I were, bleeding from the face and arms.  He had such a look of rage on his face, and in he came busting up the bottles on the table, one of which cut Dre on his arm fairly good


Both of us became covered in his blood as we tried to restrain him and take him outside to cool him off.  Inside the house there was a miasma of blood and glass strewn about the living room.  Brea severed a nerve in her hand and was bleeding as well.


We tried to restrain them both and clean up a bit, once we finished we all took off, disgusted that a good night went so wrong in a matter of moments.  I was concerned as I left because I knew Tone was still upset, and liable to do anything.  Before I thought it was Tone who was the bad element in the situation, as he had beaten Brea before, once so badly that she is completely deaf in her right ear.  I have seen Tone get drunk and jump on her before.  He was my friend, we grew up together, but I abhorred his behavior, because whatever I am myself, the last thing I would ever do is beat a woman.  Never.


Brea, however, was really asking for it, and I couldn’t understand.  Why would she do it?  Why would she push the envelope?  Had she learned nothing?  Obviously neither of them had ever learned much because they actually plan to marry.  This is the ugliest and scariest side of love.  I have seen it in other people, and I am never comfortable with it.  It is about as dark as two human beings can get, and as much as it unnerves me, I know that this will only end with one of them dead, which is sad because they have 3 kids together, and ultimately, they will be the losers…


I got home and took my clothes off.  My dress shirt was caked in dried blood.  Now here is where I diverge from the horrible tale to do a bit of a shameless plug.


I wash my own clothes, and treat them as well, and ladies, let me tell you, there is nothing that I have ever used that is more effective that Shout Action Gel.  I mean there was blood all over this pinstripe shirt, and the Action Gel got every bit of it.  So do yourself a favor, especially those of you who puke on yourselves, pass out drunk, or just have active kids, go get yourself a bottle of Shout Action Gel.  You’ll thank me for it later!


(End shameless plug)


So then the next morning, I get a call from C, who just heard about it from Brea, who placed blame fully on herself for the events of the evening.  As C explains it, they got into it again as soon as they woke up, and Tone gave her a black eye, then disappeared over to Frida’s.  Disappointment isn’t even a fair word for what I heard.


It’s over now, but I still think about it.  How can a night go so wrong?  But then I think to myself, it was probably a night that should have never existed in the first place.  Another experience had, another lesson learned…probably not.  Their relationship, whenever it ends will not end cleanly, and that is the saddest reality of all…

10 responses

  1. I’m glad you came out safely.

    January 3, 2005 at 4:09 pm

  2. it’s amazing how people act when they are in love… so sad it’s scarry a lot of times… i’ve seen myshare of beatings as well… and i guess thats another reason…why i’m still single… it’s hard to trust anyone these days… on a lighter note… here are some handjobs since i know you like those … hasta luego

    January 3, 2005 at 4:28 pm

  3. Wow, talk about an action packed evening, geez!
    BTW, I’m definitely gonna have to try that Action stuff because my dear son’s nose bled ALL over my favorite comforter and I haven’t been able to get it out.

    January 3, 2005 at 5:38 pm

  4. Anonymous

    They have 3 kids together?!  Someone or maybe both will end up dead or in jail, that’s how it will end. 

    January 3, 2005 at 10:09 pm

  5. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed your version.  It’s being proof-read due to its overwhelming length…*muahs*

    January 3, 2005 at 11:59 pm

  6. and i thought i had a little too bit of a dramatic new year’s eve for my taste..
    but yeah… good to know that you were ok through all of that.

    January 4, 2005 at 4:16 am

  7. Anonymous

    I read both versions…
    Interesting shit. Dirty laundry. Don’t think that Shout Action Gel will help with this one!

    January 4, 2005 at 10:14 am

  8. Thank you for the lip compliment.  You, also, have nice lips.  Stop by and see me again soon.

    January 4, 2005 at 12:29 pm

  9. Oh my your friend and his girl sound like my son’s father and his crazy girlfriend, she actually beats him. And they have eachother arressted all the time. If that’s love…thank god i’m single. I hope its not true that you spend your year the way you spend your new years…..At least for your sake.

    January 4, 2005 at 1:49 pm

  10. Wow that sounds evenful.  Sadly I think it made me cringe with memories of my past.  I’m sure glad logic got the best of me and I left the sorry bastard due to the fact I never wanted my kids to see Mom and Dad acting like complete idiots.
    To answer your question of what makes people act that way, good question.  I was COMPLETELY violent with my ex fiance.  Since then I have NEVER had the urge to hit someone with a car or kick him down a flight of stairs.  LOL I’m actually a soft hearted fool.  I think some people just are not meant to be together because together they are dangerous.
    great post.

    January 4, 2005 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

