All things considered…it’s good to be back home.


Make no mistake, this place, Bloomington, IN is my home.  Even when I am sad and lonely, mad and frustrated, evil and wicked, this place is where I am happiest right now. 


I’m sitting in the Information Commons, the area where I usually work my graveyard shifts.  It’s a mess because there is more construction and renovation going on, a race to get this place expanded by Jan. 10th, when the Spring semester begins.  Fuck, I just love the smell of this place.  Yes, it is all trivial for the most part, but it is here, on this campus, where I feel the most vital.  I feel an energy going through me every time I come back, because I know that it is here where I can get anything I want to done.


Sure, the wonder of it all will wear off by the time class starts and I am back under the proverbial gun, but let me just enjoy my happy moment…


And we’re done…On to new business…


I thought I was going to get my license back today…I didn’t.  Apparently, I forgot about the traffic ticket I got here in Bloomington almost one year ago.  The ticket was for driving the wrong way down a one way street, and I know that sounds crazy, but the one way in question is only half a block long, and of that half a block, I only drove maybe 10 feet of it to turn onto another street.  I didn’t realize/forgot that the small stretch was part of a one way, and the streets were abandoned that night as not many people were back to school yet.


I couldn’t get mad because I got off pretty easy seeing as I was very wasted, but I can be a good actor and play it sober so that saved me from a DUI and a night in the drunk tank.  But…much like the fuckin seatbelt ticket, I feel like I am above the law, so I never paid that one either.  Such a fuckin meathead, I swear.  So before I get my L’s back, I have to make things square with Monroe County, then I’ll be good…


Thought I was going to have to get a motel room for the night, as the dorms don’t open until 8am tomorrow, luckily, there are guys over at Chi Phi, which means that it’s ok to crash there, which is another concern off of my shoulders.


I’d like to sit here and pontificate on how I need to improve this semester, mind, body, and soul, but the reality is that I don’t even feel like thinking about that right now.  All I want to do is veg out, get drunk, and enjoy these last 4 or 5 days of nothingness.  My only upcoming responsibility is to show up for work at 8pm Sunday night at the Business School, and everything before that is pure unmitigated fuck off pleasure time, and pleasure I shall have.


I guess I’ll head over to Nick’s English Hut for a few drinks while it rains all over the world…


Tomorrow…I get my room back!

7 responses

  1. I miss the calm and togetherness I used to have the beginning of each semester. Those first few weeks always filled me with limitless possibilities and a future of success. Of course by about the fourth week in, I was ready to be done and back to sleeping all the time. But I do miss the sweet beginnings…

    January 4, 2005 at 8:43 pm

  2. i just noticed the  ‘handjobs’.. well really.. men! pffft.
    lol

    January 5, 2005 at 6:36 am

  3. Anonymous

    Don’t worry yourself with trying to set a bunch of self motivating goals.  That just sets you up for disappointment when you don’t accomplish what lofty goals you come up with in the fresh beginning of another year that will be much like the last.  Just let the changes that will happen … happen. 

    January 5, 2005 at 8:41 am

  4. well i’m glad you’re back home …hasta luego.

    January 5, 2005 at 8:54 am

  5. RYN: Thanks boo boo, I’ll do that when I get a chance to write. Kisses 🙂

    January 5, 2005 at 9:14 am

  6. Anonymous

    Thanks for the favour!! Two more for you! (Props, that is! ; )

    January 5, 2005 at 11:46 am

  7. Um…so I just want it back because it’s mine.  That’s all…save all of your surreptitious  b.s. for those that deisre it, I certainly do not.

    January 5, 2005 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

