Well, fuck me, it’s Friday…


You know I woke up in such a good mood, I am going to make good on a couple of things I haven’t…


I need to get my book and financial aid situation squared away, so that I can just ease into the next week with little resistance or guff in general…


It seems that I have picked up pipe smoking again, which isn’t a bad habit, since you don’t inhale the smoke, but it is very relaxing, that much is for sure, and it smells way too good, on top of that, you become an instant conversation piece because everyone gravitates to the person that smells good…lol.


I had a couple of bowls I picked up from The Briar and the Burley, and smoked outside in the cold.  The only drawback to pipesmoking is that it is very time consuming, like the length of smoking 5 cigarattes in a row, the difference being that cigarette smoke doesn’t taste like honey, rum, black cherry, or brandy.  Don’t knock it until you try it, you know?


Other than that, shit just seems to be going in a generally good way.  As Don Lucchesi would say, “All our ships must sail in the same direction…” damn it if it ain’t.  Today is one of those click your heels and smile even though the sun is not out.


So I want to do something different.  In celebration of a rare good mood pour moi, I am going to start something new.  I am giving you all an assignment, and in most cases, it’s simple…it’s a playlist.  If you don’t have these songs, get these songs, listen to them, and then be in a good me…like me.  So here we go…the soundtrack to your life, as dictated by an egomaniac…


Psycho Killer-Talking Heads


Starman-David Bowie


Master Blaster (Jammin’)-Stevie Wonder


Eleanor Rigby- Ray Charles (Yes, he did a cover, and frankly, it is better than the Beatles original…always bet on black, bitches…)


Give a Little Bit-Supertramp


Workin’ My Way Back To You-The Spinners


Bad Fish- Sublime


Hey Nineteen-Steely Dan


I Saw The Light-Todd Rundgren


Tangerine-Led Zeppelin


Darts of Pleasure-Franz Ferdinand


So there it is.  Your Friday evening playlist.  If you ignore the prescription, you’re a jackass, and there’s no help for you.  If you do get these songs and put them on a playlist or burn them to a CD, your life will be that much more awesome…even if it isn’t very awesome at all.


So dance with me, and forget all the other bullshit at least for a little while.


I swear to you all, it is these small moments of sublimity where you can just be lucid, smile, and feel like the wind is actually holding you up for just a minute that makes all the rest of the filth and mess seem to drift away…


“I don’t mind the sun sometimes, the images it shows…I can taste you on my lips and smell you in my clothes.  Cinnamon and sugary, their softly spoken lies…you never know just how you look through other people’s eyes…”


 

8 responses

  1. Anonymous

    “I’ll be workin’ my waay back to you babe…da da da da da da daaaaa.”………
    Now I am off to bed with a great song in my head … yeah baby!
    If those walls could talk they would, but my brother reads my site, so I am sure he won’t appreciate the gory details!
    RYC: Cheers. M. x

    January 7, 2005 at 10:52 am

  2. Love love love Tangerine.  Now I want to listen to it right NOW and I can’t.  Happy Friday!

    January 7, 2005 at 11:44 am

  3. Anonymous

    I’m glad you’re in such a good mood I’ll work on that list, well,… I’ve modified the list but, I’ll listen to a few of those songs too, do I still qualify as a jackass?

    January 7, 2005 at 12:15 pm

  4. so you woke up in a happy mood ;)…well i’m liking the songs…hasta luego.

    January 7, 2005 at 1:13 pm

  5. Thanks for the insight.  Yeah I’m not jumping back onto the bandwagon but I am allowing him to show me he’s willing to try.  I’m taking care of #1, he’s not here, he’s in Chicago, so I can’t get too close or too burned over the phone.
    Hopefully in the end, it’ll work…

    January 7, 2005 at 1:32 pm

  6. I’d have to say that I’ve done no such thing…sugarplum.  It is possible that you left me a comment on a post that is now ‘private’…in which case it won’t show up anymore.  I’ve never deleted anyone’s freedom of speech. EVER.

    January 7, 2005 at 2:13 pm

  7. P.S. Please send me my shit. Por Favor.

    January 7, 2005 at 2:15 pm

  8. but why?

    January 7, 2005 at 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

