An absolute Robert Frost type of morning.

Was awakened by a very welcome phone call this morning.  Made me
feel all warm inside, which was nice contrasted to the fresh blanket of
snow provided late last night.  Spent most of the remainder of the
morning watching Magnum Force, a Dirty Harry flick for those that don’t
know.

I decided to feel the cold air against my face, so I packed my pipe
with some Black Cherry blend and headed out.  When I got off the
elevator, the lobby was filled with Sorostitutes to be waiting to be
picked up for the next round of Panhellenic Ladies Recruitment, which
is a joke to me, because here you have these girls dressed in short
skirts and cockail strap open toed stilletos in 32 degree
weather.  What’s more, these poor beasts have to walk from house
to house in the snow just to find acceptance in their poor miserable
lives. 

I saw a few eye me as I walked out in my pajama pants and
slippers.  Once outside the cold air rushed my face, but wasn’t
nearly as harsh as I expected, which was nice.  I lit my pipe and
relaxed against the wall. 

I swear there is little more relaxing than to take pulls off a sweet
tobacco blend as you just sit and watch people.  My thoughts
weren’t really there, nothing weighing on my mind and I did nothing but
leaned back and smoked.  I marvelled at the perfect mixture of
grey and white, feeling the tiny sprinkles of snow fall around
me.  It’s times like that that I would have no problem just
getting up and walking.  I think I should do that some time, just
gear up, get a walking stick and some extra tobacco, and go spend an
afternoon in one of the various forests that surround
Bloomington.  Nothin’ fancy or lengthy, just a quiet afternoon
just to myself, and not lazing away in the bed like some invalid.

I really do wonder if people take the time to notice their surroundings
anymore. Just to stop and smell those proverbial roses.  Have we
become too slavish to our surroundings and lifestyles?

Do we put too much stock in people simply because we are missing
something within ourselves?  Is it still possible to just stop,
shut up, and observe the world around you for what it is?

My legs were getting a little cold, so I dottled my pipe and stamped
the ashes to save the rest of the bowl, then I headed back in. 
Can’t really say what I’ll so with the rest of this snowy afternoon,
but I am fairly sure I won’t be doing much.  Life as I know it
begins anew tomorrow, and I think I will just have this day for myself,
as it should be.

Try to enjoy these days, because let me tell you, you won’t get many of them…

8 responses

  1. Anonymous

    yay!! you’re hott!!

    January 8, 2005 at 10:54 pm

  2. awww…so who called you ?

    January 8, 2005 at 11:10 pm

  3. Anonymous

    BLACK CHERRY yuuuum …Yeah, so … who called you?

    January 9, 2005 at 2:41 am

  4. Anonymous

    As above.

    January 9, 2005 at 7:50 am

  5. Anonymous

    RYC: Yeah – I think I understand your point of veiw.
    I was really trying to say how much these days marriage has lost it’s sense of importance and meaning to a lot of people. Even, I as a married person can see how fallible I am when it comes to being monogamous. If that makes sense…..

    January 9, 2005 at 9:14 am

  6. First, let me stop and admire that you know who Robert Frost is. *looking at you in awe* Second, ryn: I know you’re right, but it just really sucks … I just though we were better than that … sort of a Bonnie & Clyde type of shit, everything around me is shit that we did or saw or went to.  I wish you lived closer I would love to cry on your lap, oops I meant shoulder! 🙂 very nice entry by the way … snow is so romantic.

    January 9, 2005 at 10:05 am

  7. Anonymous

    It does indeed sound like an idyllic morning. You made me laugh with “sorostitutes”!
    I know the kinda feeling though. I’m a lazy pothead who likes to stay in and phase out, but sometimes I get invigorated and wanna do stuff. Like go watch my breath make fog, or remember what it’s like to have reeeeeally cold hands.And I enjoy it. Seems you did, too. Glad you had a nice morning

    January 10, 2005 at 6:21 am

  8. Anonymous

    I make sure to notice every sunset and sunrise that I am awake for.  Always take note of the weather … days I can actually see the stars over the city lights.  I am sure very few other people take notice to such things these days … the glare of televisions, computers, cars, and the many other worldly distractions make them forget the simple life that still exists outside the tiny box they live and think in. 

    January 10, 2005 at 8:35 am

Leave a Reply

