The shape of things to come.

London AndrewsToday will not be that good.

Well, not to sit here and say that the previous three days here at the blog were spectacular, but in many ways they were. The blog here at PopLifePhotography has been for the most part, an experiment of sorts just to see if it were capable of developing and creating good, solid content for readers to well…read. And enjoy, of course.

So to have a week that has been as successful with readers, new readers and a fair amount of feedback has been humbling to say the least. In all honesty, this is still a work in progress. Where there should be a plan in terms of content, there really isn’t one, at least not yet. For a student of journalism, to approach something like this without an editorial calendar, or any sense of structure is a bit jarring.

But then I’ve always flown by the seat of my pants in some ways.

Nonetheless, I wanted to take this opportunity on this cloudy Thursday to thank each and every one of you who have stopped by, subscribed or otherwise complimented what we’ve been able to do here in this short amount of time. I expected to be speaking to an empty room of sorts for a little while, and already, I have developed, cultivated an audience that matters.

And that audience is you. Wonderful, gracious you. So thanks.

In other news…

So today’s picture is that of the lovely and wildly popular London Andrews. I shot this photo in October of last year, as she made her way through fair Bloomington. The shoot was designed as part of a cover story that would have been a part of the online edition of PopLife Magazine. A venture that has been oft delayed, and now finds its genesis within the lines of this blog.

Everything in pieces, I suppose.

Kinsey Institute Art ShowThe reason I’m sharing a shot of London today is for good reason, however. Tomorrow, May 20, 2011 is the kickoff for the 2011 Kinsey Institute Juried Art Show. A yearly showcase of talent from across the globe, this year’s show features works from more than 130 artists of different mediums and messages.

PopLifePhotography was fortunate enough to be selected as one of the artists from a pool of close to 700 applicants. The piece, which I will share on the blog tomorrow features the lovely torso of Ms. Andrews.

It’s truly an exciting time, and I am genuinely privileged to be a part of the festivities. It marks the first time any piece from PopLifePhotography has been selected for public viewing, and, I hope the first of more opportunities to come. I certainly don’t wish to be cryptic about the whole thing, because frankly, I want to share this honor with pretty much everyone I know, but I’ve decided to preview the whole thing tomorrow along with some insights into how this crazy thing came together and what it means to be an anti-artist.

In the meantime, if you are unfamiliar, and I doubt many of you are, go visit I Fucked London Andrews, a Tumblr blog dedicated to everything London.

You know, maybe today wasn’t so shabby after all. Leave me a comment or two and tell me what you think.

More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

