Perfect pictures of dreamgirls underneath starry skies…

Hula Girl

One of the things you’ll learn as a reader of this blog is that the titles are only loosely related to the subject matter that follows…sort of a way to keep you on your toes, even if it comes off as slightly confusing.

The opening reception for the 2011 Kinsey Institute Juried Art Show went well, with an amazing number of people showing up from all over. The two hours went by much faster than I thought they would, which I suppose is a side-effect of getting caught up in the moment. A good number of people showed up specifically to see “Obscenity”, which made me feel pretty good.

As a follow up to last Friday’s post, I found it both strange and humorous to get interviewed for television and public radio about my piece, because once getting a real look at all the other pieces and seeing the obvious hard work that went into the creation of them, I truly felt like I didn’t belong there since it took less than an hour to create and submit “Obscenity”, which I openly admitted to my interviewers, which elicited equal reactions of shock and humor from them.

Now that, I could completely enjoy.

"Olympia"As for the competition, of course I didn’t win Best of Show, nor did I ever expect to. As I had said from the beginning, being selected was honor enough. The winner of Best of Show was, however, a photo. Titled “Olympia [After Manet]” by Niki Grangruth and her “Muse” James Kinser (pictured). It was a nice enough photo, not my favorite (promise those are not sour grapes talking), but as compared to many of the other works on display, I suppose the judges could have picked far, far worse.

I want to thank each and everyone who showed up for the reception, and for those of you who voiced your support and congratulations. Now that my art gallery cherry has been broken, I think I will do more gallery pieces, but not until after the move to the DC area has taken place. It was good to get this one out of my system, and I think I’ll prepare something for next year’s show as well.

The 2011 Kinsey Institute Juried Art Show continues from now until July 30, 2011 at the Indiana University SoFA Gallery (Soon to be renamed the Grunwald Gallery of Art).

Hollis IrelandAs I was thinking about content for this week, I’ve decided to do a bit of an overview of models I love. Some I’ve worked with, others I have yet to work with, but each day this week, starting tomorrow, I’ll be featuring a model who I think just exemplifies everything that a photographer wants in front of their camera. Some you will know, others you’ll be introduced to, but they are amazing all the same.

First up is a model who’s career I actually helped to begin by doing her first photoshoot. Known as Hollis Ireland, this lithe ginger beauty was one of the most amazing and raw talents I have ever worked with. She has gone on to even greater things, such as having print work in magazines and being featured at conventions and other shows.

So until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

